2016 Pearl Fryar Scholarship Recipients Announced!


Pictured above, from left to right: Rev. Jerome McCray - Friends of Pearl Fryar's Topiary Garden President; Ms. Meree McAlister - CCTC Foundation Executive Director; Dr. Wanda Andrews - Lee County School District; Earlando Lighty - Lee Central High School; Mr. Pearl Fryar; Caleb Watson - Robert E. Lee Academy; Dr. Tim Hardee - CCTC President; Ms. Maria Watson - Robert E. Lee Academy; and Ms. Ruby Gibbs - Vice Chair CCTC Foundation.

Congratulations to the 2016 Pearl Fryar Scholarship recipients Earlando Lighty of Lee Central High School and Caleb Watson of Robert E. Lee Academy!

Lighty and Watson are pictured above standing on either side of Mr. Fryar at the July 28th scholarship presentation ceremony at the Pearl Fryar Topiary Garden.

The Pearl Fryar Scholarship is presented each year to two local students who want to attend the Central Carolina Technical College (CCTC), where both Lighty and Watson will be starting in the fall.

Pearl Fryar has always believed in the potential of every student to contribute to society, regardless of test scores, and the scholarship program is one way Mr. Fryar likes to give back to his community.

Thank you to everyone who donated to the scholarship fund and who continues to follow and support Mr. Fryar's work. For more information on the scholarship, please visit the link provided here.


Photo Credit: Photograph by Seth Johnson.